Sunday Talladega Cup race: Start time, TV info, weather

  • In Sports
  • 2022-10-01 16:34:48Z
  • By NBC Sports

Sunday will mark a difficult crossroads for NASCAR. As several of its top drivers express serious concerns about safety, the Cup Series is at Talladega Superspeedway, the circuit's biggest track and site of many massive wrecks over its 53 years of existence.

Adding to the tension is the fact that Sunday's 188-lap, 500-mile race is the middle event in the second round of the playoffs. With a win automatically advancing any of the 12 playoff drivers to the next round, the final laps are likely to be frantic.

Sunday's race (2 p.m. ET, NBC) will begin with Joey Logano atop the playoff point standings. Following him in the top eight are Ross Chastain, Kyle Larson, Ryan Blaney, Denny Hamlin, Daniel Suarez, Chase Elliott and Chase Briscoe.

Below the cutline are Austin Cindric, William Byron, Christopher Bell and Alex Bowman. Byron fell below the line this week when NASCAR penalized him for bumping Hamlin under caution during last Sunday's race at Texas Motor Speedway. Hendrick Motorsports has appealed the penalty.

Bowman will miss Sunday's race because of concussion-like symptoms he has experienced after a crash at Texas. Noah Gragson will replace him.

Bell won the pole Saturday with a speed of 180.591 mph.

Details for Sunday's race:

START: The command to start engines will be given by Jimmy Rane, president of Great Southern Wood Preserving, at 1:52 p.m. (ET). … Green flag is scheduled to wave at 2:04 p.m.

PRERACE: Cup garage opens at 11 a.m. … Driver introductions are at 1:15 p.m. … The invocation will be given by Barbara Embry, chaplin of Citizens Baptist Medical Center, at 1:43 p.m. … The national anthem will be performed by the 313th U.S. Army Band at 1:45 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 188 laps (500 miles) on the 2.66-mile speedway.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 60. Stage 2 ends at Lap 120.

STARTING LINEUP: Talladega Cup starting lineup

TV/RADIO: NBC will broadcast the race at 2 p.m. Countdown to Green begins at 1 p.m. … Motor Racing Network coverage begins at 1 p.m. … SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.


FORECAST: Weather Underground - Mainly sunny. High of 78. 5% chance of rain.

LAST TIME: Bubba Wallace won last October's race, which was shortened to 117 laps by rain. Brad Keselowski was second.


Could in-car cameras change NASCAR officiating?

Wide-open Talladega could produce 20th different seasonal winner

Alex Bowman sitting out Talladega because of concussion-like symptoms

Dr. Diandra: Is Talladega really a playoff wildcard?

Read more about NASCAR

Christopher Bell wins Cup Series pole at Talladega Superspeedway Saturday NASCAR schedule at Talladega Superspeedway Talladega Xfinity starting lineup: Austin Hill wins pole


Sunday Talladega Cup race: Start time, TV info, weather originally appeared on


More Related News

NASCAR's Hailie Deegan got the votes, but now she needs a ride; Ford Performance looks for a fit

NASCAR's only full-time female racer on the national level, Hailie Deegan won the Truck Series' Most Popular Driver award for the second straight year

Sport shows support for Gibbs family at NASCAR Awards
Sport shows support for Gibbs family at NASCAR Awards

Xfinity champion Ty Gibbs and team owner Joe Gibbs thanked the NASCAR community for its support after the death of Coy Gibbs.

John Krasinski
John Krasinski's Kids Think Emily Blunt Married Him "Out Of Charity" Because They're Convinced He Works In An Office

"'Why are you lying to me? … he just said he knows you from the office?'"View Entire Post ›

Friday 5: Will Kyle Busch become NASCAR
Friday 5: Will Kyle Busch become NASCAR's Tom Brady, Peyton Manning?

Kyle Busch sees how Tom Brady and Peyton Manning each won a title after switching NFL teams and seeks to do that as he joins Richard Childress Racing.

2022 NASCAR Awards a sound success in the Music City
2022 NASCAR Awards a sound success in the Music City

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - It wouldn't be a stretch to say that deuces were wild Thursday night at the Music City Center, where NASCAR honored the champions of its top three national series at the annual NASCAR Awards. Headlining the event was 2022 NASCAR Cup Series champion Joey Logano, driver of the No. 22 Team Penske […]

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply


Top News: Sports