PGA Tour backstopping controversy returns as Kevin Na yells, "Hit my ball!" to playing partner




  • In Sports
  • 2020-01-18 18:58:02Z
  • By Golf Digest
 

We may have entered a new decade, but backstopping is still a thing on the PGA Tour. Just ask Golf Twitter.

On Friday night, the tour tweeted video of a spectacular bunker shot by Russell Knox during the second round of the American Express. It didn't take long, though, for people to focus not on the shot itself, but what happened while Knox's golf ball rolled toward the hole.

RELATED: It's time golf gets rid of the gray in backstopping

Knox's ball barely misses hitting playing partner Kevin Na's unmarked ball inside tap-in range. And stoking the flames of a potential controversy is the fact Na can be heard saying, "Hit my ball!" in the clip. Watch and listen:

And here's a sampling of reactions:

RELATED: Golf's biggest turkeys of 2019

Why was Na's ball not marked? Good question-especially considering the attention the debate over backstopping has gotten the past couple years after several videos made the rounds. In 2018, Jimmy Walker didn't do anything to make the issue go away when he admitted to purposely leaving his ball near the hole to help certain players.

And last year, the discussion spread to the LPGA when Amy Olson hit Ariya Jutanugarn's ball after waving her off from marking, later claiming she did it to speed up pace of play. At this point, you would think tour pros would go out of their way to mark their golf balls even if the odds of a playing partner hitting their ball are slim.

In any event, here's what Rule 15.3a says: "If you reasonably believe that a ball on the putting green might help anyone's play (such as by serving as a possible backstop near the hole), you may mark and lift the ball if it is your own, or if the ball belongs to another player, require the other player to mark and lift the ball."

The rule also states, "If you and another player agree to leave a ball in place to help one of you, and that player then makes a stroke with the helping ball left in place, each player who made the agreement gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes)."

In other words, even if the golf balls don't make contact, both players can still be penalized.

Perhaps, Na isn't aware of the rule. Or, perhaps, he figured Knox could use all the help he could get trying to escape Pete Dye's infamous "San Andreas Fault" bunker on PGA West's Stadium Course. And, perhaps, Knox was so far below the green he had no clue Na's ball was there. Regardless, as long as players don't mark their golf balls around the hole, the public will continue to speculate as to why.

RELATED: This is it, this is the craziest sand save in PGA Tour history

WATCH MORE GOLF DIGEST VIDEOS

Watch Now: Golf Digest Video.

Originally Appeared on Golf Digest

COMMENTS

More Related News

DeChambeau
DeChambeau's 'mad scientist' muscle validated in U.S. Open win

Bryson DeChambeau's unorthodox style got major validation on Sunday, as the power-driving "mad scientist" of the PGA Tour claimed the U.S. Open by a definitive six-stroke margin and silenced his sceptics. Since he unveiled his single-length set of clubs at the start of his pro career, the former physics major has embarked on a one-man mission to revolutionise golf, facing plenty of doubts in a sport where tradition is valued above all else. "I all of a sudden got a lot stronger, worked out every day, been working out every day, and all of a sudden -- not because of clubs, but because of me, I was able to gain 20, 25 yards," said DeChambeau after winning his maiden major title over...

Jim Furyk wins second PGA Tour Champions title at Pure Insurance Championship
Jim Furyk wins second PGA Tour Champions title at Pure Insurance Championship

Jim Furyk claimed his second PGA Tour Champions title, winning the Pure Insurance Championship at Pebble Beach.

Jim Furyk makes it 2 for 2 on PGA Tour Champions
Jim Furyk makes it 2 for 2 on PGA Tour Champions

Jim Furyk joined Arnold Palmer and Bruce Fleisher as the only players to win their first two PGA Tour Champions starts, beating Jerry Kelly with a birdie on the first hole of a playoff in the Pure Insurance Championship. The 50-year-old Furyk won The Ally Championship last month in Michigan in his tour debut. Palmer won his first two events in 1980, and Fleisher accomplished the feat in 1999.

PGA Tour to implement revised pace-of-play policy in 2021
PGA Tour to implement revised pace-of-play policy in 2021

The PGA Tour will take a step in combating slow play when its revised pace-of-play policy is enacted in January 2021.

PGA Tour to implement new slow-play policy at Tournament of Champions
PGA Tour to implement new slow-play policy at Tournament of Champions

On Friday, the PGA Tour informed players that it would be going forward with a revised pace-of-play policy beginning in 2021.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply

Comments

Top News: Sports