Aaron Donald is a unanimous pick for the NFL's 2010s all-decade team


The 2010s were quite a decade for Aaron Donald.

He has made the Pro Bowl every season since the Rams drafted him 13th overall in 2014. He was named defensive rookie of the year that season and defensive player of the year in 2017 and 2018. He led the NFL in sacks with 20.5 in 2018 and led the league in tackles for loss with 25 in 2018 and 20 in 2019.

It makes sense that the Rams defensive end was one of eight unanimous selections for the NFL's All-Decade Team for the 2010s, which was announced Monday morning.

"I don't see myself as somebody special," Donald told The Times' Gary Klein last fall. "I just see myself as Aaron, the same guy I've been all my life."

Punter Johnny Hekker, who has spent all eight of his NFL seasons with the Rams in St. Louis and Los Angeles, was also one of the 52 players chosen by the the Pro Football Hall of Fame's 48-member selection committee. Hekker set a Super Bowl record with his 65-yard punt against the New England Patriots in 2019.

"I am honored to have been selected to the 2010's all decade team," Hekker tweeted. "I am immediately reminded of my amazing teammates that have had a huge hand in my production as a punter. Nobody can play this game alone! Here is to the next decade!"

Defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh and safety Eric Weddle, each of whom spent a season with the Rams in Los Angeles, also made the list. Weddle and offensive flex player/punt returner Darren Sproles spent time with the Chargers during the last decade, but before the team moved from San Diego to L.A.

The other unanimous choices were quarterback Tom Brady (who also made the 2000s All-Decade Team), running back Adrian Peterson, offensive tackle Joe Thomas, guard Marshal Yanda, defensive end J.J. Watt, linebacker Von Miller and kicker Justin Tucker.

New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick made the list for the second decade in a row. He is joined by current Seattle Seahawks coach and former USC coach Pete Carroll.

New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees, who set multiple passing records during the 2010s, but won his only Super Bowl following the 2009 season, was left off the list in favor of Brady and the Green Bay Packers' Aaron Rodgers. One-time Rams defensive back Aqib Talib, who returned 10 interceptions for touchdowns during the decade, also did not make the cut. Neither did Minnesota Vikings safety Harrison Smith, who has made the Pro Bowl in each of the last five seasons.

NFL 2010s All-Decade Team

* Unanimous choice


Tom Brady* (Patriots)

Aaron Rodgers (Packers)

Running back

Frank Gore (49ers, Colts, Dolphins, Bills)

Marshawn Lynch (Bills, Seahawks, Raiders)

LeSean McCoy (Eagles, Bills, Chiefs)

Adrian Peterson* (Vikings, Cardinals, Saints, Redskins)

Wide receiver

Antonio Brown (Steelers, Patriots)

Larry Fitzgerald (Cardinals)

Calvin Johnson (Lions)

Julio Jones (Falcons)


Darren Sproles (Chargers, Saints, Eagles)

Tight end

Rob Gronkowski (Patriots)

Travis Kelce (Chiefs)

Offensive tackle

Jason Peters (Eagles)

Tyron Smith (Cowboys)

Joe Staley (49ers)

Joe Thomas* (Browns)

Offensive guard

Jahri Evans (Saints, Packers)

Logan Mankins (Patriots, Buccaneers)

Zack Martin (Cowboys)

Marshal Yanda* (Ravens)


Alex Mack (Browns, Falcons)

Maurkice Pouncey (Steelers)

Defensive end

Calais Campbell (Cardinals, Jaguars)

Cameron Jordan (Saints)

Julius Peppers (Bears, Packers, Panthers)

J.J. Watt* (Texans)

Defensive tackle

Geno Atkins (Bengals)

Fletcher Cox (Eagles)

Aaron Donald* (Rams)

Ndamukong Suh (Lions, Dolphins, Rams, Buccaneers)


Chandler Jones (Patriots, Cardinals)

Luke Kuechly (Panthers)

Khalil Mack (Raiders, Bears)

Von Miller* (Broncos)

Bobby Wagner (Seahawks)

Patrick Willis (49ers)


Patrick Peterson (Cardinals)

Darrelle Revis (Jets, Buccaneers, Patriots, Chiefs)


Richard Sherman (Seahawks, 49ers)

Eric Berry (Chiefs)

Earl Thomas (Seahawks, Ravens)

Eric Weddle (Chargers, Ravens, Rams)

Defensive back

Chris Harris Jr. (Broncos)

Tyrann Mathieu (Cardinals, Texans, Chiefs)


Johnny Hekker (Rams)

Shane Lechler (Raiders, Texans)


Stephen Gostkowski (Patriots)

Justin Tucker* (Ravens)

Punt return specialist

Tyreek Hill (Chiefs)

Darren Sproles (Chargers, Saints, Eagles)

Kick return specialist

Devin Hester (Bears, Falcons, Ravens, Seahawks)

Cordarrelle Patterson (Vikings, Raiders, Patriots, Bears)


Bill Belichick (Patriots)

Pete Carroll (Seahawks)


More Related News

How to fix NFL
How to fix NFL's 'broken system' for minority hiring

Peter King dives into the NFL's minority hiring problem and looks at what can be done to fix it.

Rob Gronkowski reveals main reason he joined Bucs, and it isn
Rob Gronkowski reveals main reason he joined Bucs, and it isn't Tom Brady

Tom Brady certainly played a part in Rob Gronkowski coming out of retirement to join the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, but he wasn't the main reason.

NFL.com changes Colin Kaepernick
NFL.com changes Colin Kaepernick's designation from "retired"

Colin Kaepernick hasn't retired, and now the league-owned website properly reflects that fact. NFL.com has changed Kaepernick's designation from "retired" to "UFA," presumably after the incorrect verbiage was brought to light on Friday night. "Thank you to everyone who held the @NFL accountable for falsely reporting that Colin 'retired' on their website," his girlfriend, Nessa, [more]

NFL's website briefly listed ex-49ers QB Colin Kaepernick as retired

Kaepernick's supposed retirement would appear to be news to him.

Jets, QB Joe Flacco agree to terms on 1-year deal
Jets, QB Joe Flacco agree to terms on 1-year deal

The New York Jets and quarterback Joe Flacco have agreed to terms on a one-year deal, the 2013 Super Bowl MVP's agency announced on Twitter. The move to bring in Flacco gives third-year starter Sam Darnold a veteran backup, but one who is also coming off a herniated disk that cut short his only season in Denver and required surgery to repair. JL Sports, headed by agent Joe Linta, announced the agreement Friday.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Cancel reply


Top News: Football